Recent Webinar Reports – see more

14th May 2019

IIC Canada Annual Meeting of Members May 2019

Chapter event

IIC Canada Annual Meeting of Members

The Canadian chapter (IIC Canada) held its Annual Meeting of Members (AMM) on May 14, 2019. A number of changes were made to the composition of the Board of Directors and Executive of IIC Canada at this meeting and a subsequent meeting of the Board or Directors.

Grant Buchanan, Counsel with McCarthy Tétrault LLP, was elected as President of IIC Canada, replacing Hank Intven, who had served in that position for the past five years. Marie-Phillipe Bouchard, CEO of TV5 Quebec Canada, was elected Vice-President and Paul Beaudry, Director, Broadband Policy and Regulatory Affairs at TELUS Communications Inc., was elected Secretary-Treasurer.

Jim Patrick, who had served as Treasurer for many years, has stepped aside from that position, but will be retained by IIC Canada to continue his key role in organizing and staging the chapter’s annual conferences. The Board is grateful for Jim’s contribution to the success of its annual conferences in past years and pleased that he will continue to support the chapter in his new role.

The board is also pleased that Donna Lachance will continue on as the Chapter’s administrator.

The following IIC Canada Board members are continuing with their term of office until the 2020 AMM.

  • Asha Daniere, Blue Ant Media
  • Hank Intven, University of Victoria, Haro Strait Consulting Inc.
  • Ian Scott, Canadian Radio-television and Telecommunications Commission (CRTC)
  • Jay Thomson, Canadian Communication Systems Alliance
  • Jim Patrick, Jim Patrick & Associates Inc.
  • Marie-Philippe Bouchard, TV5 Québec Canada
  • Monique McAlister, Goodmans LLP
  • Paul Beaudry, TELUS
  • Stephen Simpson, Former CRTC Commissioner, IIC Trustee

At the AMM, the members also agreed to re-elect the following individuals whose two-year term will conclude at the 2021 AMM.

  • Bryan Tramont, Wilkinson Barker Knauer LLP
  • Fiona Gilfillan, Department of Innovation, Science and Economic Development Canada
  • Grant Buchanan, McCarthy Tétrault LLP
  • Laurence Dunbar, Fasken Martineau DuMoulin LLP

In addition, two new members were elected to the Board for a two year term:

  • Owen Ripley, Department of Canadian Heritage
  • Erin Finlay, Stohn Hay Cafazzo Dembroski Richmond LLP

IIC Canada’s next annual conference will be held in Ottawa on April 20th and 21st, 2020.

Event details
14th May 2019

Upcoming Events

View All
26th - 27th May 2021
Online IIC/BEREC Telecommunications & Media Forum 2021
June 2021
Sydney, Australia IIC Australia Chapter: Cybersecurity and critical infrastructure
Back to the top

The IIC is the world's only policy debating platform for the converged communications industry

We give innovators and regulators a forum in which to explore, debate and agree the best policies and regulatory frameworks for widest societal benefit.

Insight: Exchange: Influence

We give members a voice through conferences, symposiums and private meetings, as well as broad exposure of their differing viewpoints through articles, reports and interviews.

The new website will make it easier for you to gather fresh insights, exchange views with others and have a voice in the debate

Take a look Learn more about our updates
Please upgrade your browser

You are seeing this because you are using a browser that is not supported. The International Institute of Communications website is built using modern technology and standards. We recommend upgrading your browser with one of the following to properly view our website:

Windows Mac

Please note that this is not an exhaustive list of browsers. We also do not intend to recommend a particular manufacturer's browser over another's; only to suggest upgrading to a browser version that is compliant with current standards to give you the best and most secure browsing experience.