NEW IIC Podcasts – see more

NEWS

Germany: Opinion of the Data Ethics Commission

03.03.2020
Share this

The Data Ethics Commission, Federal Ministry of Justice and Consumer Protection (BMJV), has produced an English translation of its Opinion document on data and algorithmic systems, including Artificial Intelligence. The Commission was established in 2018, with a one-year mandate to “develop ethical benchmarks and guidelines as well as specific recommendations for action, aiming at protecting the individual, preserving social cohesion, and safeguarding and promoting prosperity in the information age”.

The Federal Government had presented the Commission with various key questions focused around three primary topics: algorithm-based decision-making (ADM), AI and data. The Commission released the Executive Summary of its Opinion in October 2019.

Download the full Opinion.

The Data Ethics Commission, German Federal Ministry of Justice and Consumer Protection (BMJV), has produced an English translation of its Opinion document on data and algorithmic systems, including Artificial Intelligence.

Theme:
Innovation and Content
Region:
Europe
Chapter:
Europe
AI, Artificial Intelligence, Data
You may also like... News
5G investment accelerating throughout 2020 01.08.2020
News
‘Grace Hopper’ cable to link the US, UK and Spain 30.07.2020
News
Court suspends EU data requests in Facebook investigation 29.07.2020

Latest

Podcast
In Conversation: Ian Scott, CTRC and Chris Chapman, IIC 03.08.2020
News
5G investment accelerating throughout 2020 01.08.2020
News
‘Grace Hopper’ cable to link the US, UK and Spain 30.07.2020
News
Court suspends EU data requests in Facebook investigation 29.07.2020
View All
Back to the top

The IIC is the world's only policy debating platform for the converged communications industry

We give innovators and regulators a forum in which to explore, debate and agree the best policies and regulatory frameworks for widest societal benefit.

Insight: Exchange: Influence

We give members a voice through conferences, symposiums and private meetings, as well as broad exposure of their differing viewpoints through articles, reports and interviews.

The new website will make it easier for you to gather fresh insights, exchange views with others and have a voice in the debate

Take a look Learn more about our updates
Please upgrade your browser

You are seeing this because you are using a browser that is not supported. The International Institute of Communications website is built using modern technology and standards. We recommend upgrading your browser with one of the following to properly view our website:

Windows Mac

Please note that this is not an exhaustive list of browsers. We also do not intend to recommend a particular manufacturer's browser over another's; only to suggest upgrading to a browser version that is compliant with current standards to give you the best and most secure browsing experience.